Umbrella Academy Season 2 Release Date And Who Is In Cast?

The Umbrella Academy is Netflix’s 2019 hit superhero flick. Which became widely popular since the inception of the show. It based on a comic book of the same name by Gerard Way and Gabriel Bá, published by Dark Horse Comics. 

The adaption was initially considered as a film in 2011 and a television series in 2015. Finally, Netflix took up the show in 2017. And The Umbrella Academy’s season 1 premiered on February 15, 2019. It received critical acclamation for its visuals and cast and recorded 45 million subscribers having watched the show in its first month. Let’s explore the future of the show further. 

When Will Season 2 Release?

The Umbrella Academy season 2 release date | Netflix plot, cast ...

Considering the show’s massive success, it’sno surprise the show was renewed for another season by Netflix. The announcement came in the first month of release. Confirming the date for season 2 release on July 31, 2020. 

Showrunner Steve Blackman had said it would take 18 months for the second season, and it seems to be right on track. Since the filming concluded in November last year. The pandemic didn’t affect the show. The post-production work was done remotely since the lockdown happened, and we get The Umbrella Academy season 2 delivered on time. 

How Did The Previous Season End And What Happens In Season 2? 

In the season 1 finale, we saw Number Seven/Vanya destroyed a chunk of the moon, destroying Earth. Number Five comes to rescue the Hargreeves siblings by teleporting them to an earlier time. 

Recently, Netflix released a few images which place them in 1960s Texas. Where they will continue their journeys in the Umbrella Academy season 2. 


All of the Hargreeves siblings will be seen in the second season, meaning Tom Hopper, David Castañeda, Emmy Raver, Robert Sheehan, Aidan Gallagher, Justin H Min, and Ellen Page will be coming back to reprise their roles. 

Three newcomers will also join the cast, namely, Ritu Arya, Yusuf Gatewood, and Marin Ireland.